top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWhitney

Blogging with a Purpose

Hi there! My name is Whitney and I am a Licensed Clinical Mental Health Counselor Associate, or LCMHCA for short. These letters are just a fancy way of saying I spent a lot of time and money in graduate school to earn a degree in clinical mental health, then spent some more time and money seeking licensure by my state. These letters grant me the ability to ethically do what I love and get paid for it. Woohoo, go me!


I am here writing to you, because I am passionate about what I get to do day in and day out. I would love to share my passion with anyone willing to read these posts, which I promise I will try to keep short. Most of these posts will be centered on the counseling profession, my thoughts and things that I have learned, but there may be a day down the road where I switch things up a bit. Who knows, but I hope you’ll journey with me and enjoy the ride!


As we begin this journey I would like to mention a few things. As I just said, I will try to keep these blogs short. Everyone is busy and we ain’t got time to be reading fifty pages. Also, I want these blogs to be written as if I’m talking to you. So, yes, some of my grammar may not follow traditional rules (i.e. two sentences ago). Third, I will do my best to ensure that I am providing accurate information on any topic I am discussing. While this blog may be informal, the professional in me will give credit where credit is due by way of citing my sources. Lastly, but most importantly, I am a Christian.


My personal beliefs are not a reflection of the counseling profession, nor are they a reflection of all Christians in the world. In some blogs I may not mention my beliefs, but there may be times where you see some integration between Christianity and psychology. This integration occurs, because being a Christian and being a professional are both important parts of my identity. The only thing I can do is authentically be myself with you. You may not agree with things I say if you have differing beliefs and that’s okay! At the end of the day we can respect and learn from those we come into contact with.


Alright. I believe that’s all I have to say for now, so thanks for popping in and spending some time with me. I hope you enjoy my future posts and feel free to send me some ideas on what topics you’d like to hear about.


Blessings,

Whitney

43 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page